“Ted Lasso” wins Peabody Award for excellence in storytelling

1 min read
“Ted Lasso” wins Peabody Award for excellence in storytelling

The comedy series from Apple Original “Ted Lasso” has won the 2021 Peabody Award for excellence in storytelling. The award was presented virtually by Will Ferrell and was accepted by “Ted Lasso” executive producer and star Jason Sudeikis.

In addition to Peabody Award, “Ted Lasso” was honored with an Outstanding Performance by a Male Actor in a Comedy Series Award for Jason Sudeikis at the 2021 Screen Actors Guild Awards. The series was also nominated for an MTV Movie & TV Award and received the AFI Television Program of the Year honor.

The comedy won three Critics Choice Awards for Best Comedy Series, Best Actor in a Comedy Series for Jason Sudeikis, and Best Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series for Hannah Waddingham, sweeping all categories in which the widely beloved series was nominated. Jason Sudeikis also won Best Actor in a Comedy Series at the Golden Globe Awards. The Writers Guild of America crowned “Ted Lasso” with wins for both Best Comedy and Best New Series.

“Ted Lasso” stars Sudeikis as Ted Lasso, a small-time college football coach from Kansas hired to coach a professional soccer team in England, despite having no experience coaching soccer. Hannah Waddingham, Brendan Hunt, Jeremy Swift, Juno Temple, Brett Goldstein, Phil Dunster, and Nick Mohammed star alongside Sudeikis in the ensemble cast.

In addition to starring, Sudeikis serves as executive producer, alongside Bill Lawrence via his Doozer Productions, in association with Warner Bros. Television and Universal Television, a division of NBC Universal Content Studios. Doozer’s Jeff Ingold also serves as an executive producer with Liza Katzer as co-executive producer. The series was developed by Sudeikis, Lawrence, Hunt, and Joe Kelly, and is based on the pre-existing format and characters from NBC Sports.