////

iOS 16 arriving today at this time, prepare your iPhones for iOS 16

6 mins read
iOS 16 arriving today at this time, prepare your iPhones for iOS 16
(Courtesy of Apple Inc.)

Apple will start rolling out iOS 16 to iPhone 8 and later phones arriving today (Sept. 12, 2022) at 10 am PT/1:00 pm EDT/10:30 pm IST. As we saw the preview of iOS 16 at the WWDC 2022 keynote, iOS 16 offers personalized lock screens, big changes to iMessages, tight security, and more features.

Related: Everything Apple announced at WWDC 2022 keynote

Related: Some iPhones will lose the iOS 16’s exclusive features

(Tip: To see the local time in your country, simply convert the above local timezone to your own local timezone (via Google Search), or look to the timezones listed below.)

  • Cupertino, California — 10:00 am PDT (Apple’s home timing)
  • Vancouver, Canada — 10:00 am PDT
  • Toronto, Canada — 1:00 pm EDT
  • New York, USA — 1:00 pm EDT
  • Delhi, India — 10:30 pm IST
  • London, United Kingdom — 6:00 pm BST
  • Honolulu, Hawaii — 7:00 am HAST
  • Anchorage, Alaska — 9:00 am AKDT
  • Phoenix, Arizona — 10:00 am MST
  • Denver, Colorado — 11:00 am MDT
  • Dallas, Texas — 12:00 noon CDT
  • Halifax, Canada — 2:00 pm ADT
  • Rio de Janeiro, Brazil — 2:00 pm BRT
  • Berlin, Germany — 7:00 pm CEST
  • Paris, France — 7:00 pm CEST
  • Cape Town, South Africa — 7:00 pm SAST
  • Moscow, Russia — 8:00 pm MSK
  • Helsinki, Finland — 8:00 pm EEST
  • Istanbul, Turkey — 8:00 pm TRT
  • Dubai, United Arab Emirates — 9:00 pm GST
  • Jakarta, Indonesia — 12:00 am WIB next day
  • Shanghai, China — 1:00 am CST next day
  • Singapore — 1:00 am SGT next day
  • Perth, Australia — 1:00 am AWST next day
  • Hong Kong — 1:00 am HKT next day
  • Seoul, South Korea — 2:00 am KST next day
  • Tokyo, Japan — 2:00 am JST next day
  • Adelaide, Australia — 2:30 am ACST next day
  • Sydney, Australia — 3:00 am AEST next day
  • Auckland, New Zealand — 5:00 am NZST next day
Advertisements

How to download and install the iOS 16 update?

Tap the “Settings” icon from your iPhone and click “General” from the listed menu, then tap the “Software Update.” The screen shows the currently installed version of iOS and whether an update is available. If iOS 16 is available for your device, click on “Install Now.” The iOS 16 will then be downloaded and installed on your iPhone.

(Tip: To get Automatic Updates by going to Settings > General > Software Update > Automatic Updates. Then turn on Download iOS Updates and Install iOS Updates.)

iPhone Automatic Updates

iOS 16 features

Customizable Lock Screen

With iOS 16, you now have more ways to customise your lock screen, including the ability to add favourite photos and change the text style. You can even design your own style lock screen with a variety of backgrounds. To change, simply touch the display (I mean press and hold for a second) and then swipe.

Advertisements

Messages

In iOS 16, you can now make changes to a recent message you sent (for up to 15 minutes after sending it) or even unsend it (for up to 2 minutes after sending it). And you can mark a message as unread if you can’t respond at the moment and want to get back to it later.

SharePlay via Messages

Now, you can watch the most recent episode of your preferred tv show or enjoy a brand-new song while chatting with friends in Messages. Shared playback controls make sure you’re always in sync.

Collaboration in Messages

To start working together right away, share notes, presentations, reminders, Safari Tab Groups, and more in Messages. Updates on shared projects can be seen in the thread, and you can simply contact your collaborators from within the app you’re using.

Focus Mode

Users can now choose which contacts or applications they want to get notifications from in the new Focus mode. When switching from Personal Focus to Work Focus with a single swipe, the display will be updated. To-do list widgets might be shown.

Notifications

Now, notifications on the lock screen will flow out from the bottom of the screen in bold text. Users will have to swipe them from bottom to top in order to access them. They can be viewed in list view modes that are stacked or extended.

Advertisements

Widgets

You can quickly glance at information from your favourite apps’ widgets on the Lock Screen, including weather, calendar events, date, time zones, alarms, battery life, Activity ring progress, and more.

Live Activities

From your lock screen, Live Activities make it simpler to keep up with events that are happening in real-time. So you don’t have to unlock your device to check the game’s score or track the activities of your food delivery.

Passkeys

Passkeys are also included in iOS 16. They are exclusive to the website they were built for and are an end-to-end encrypted sign-in solution. They never depart from your phone. Additionally, Apple is introducing a Lockdown mode to safeguard iPhones from spyware like Pegasus. To access it, go to “Settings” and then click the “Privacy & Security” tab and then you will see “Lockdown Mode” the at bottom, once you get in there tap the “Turn On Lockdown Mode.”

Home app

The Home app has been completely redesigned to be even more useful and reliable. Use the newly designed Home tab to navigate all of your smart home accessories. New categories for climate, lights, security and more allow you access relevant accessories with just a tap. And a multicamera view puts your smart home cameras front and center.

Related: Apple promises Matter smart home standard support later this fall

Health app

You can manage and keep track of the medications you take using the new Medications section in the Health app. Additionally, you can now invite loved ones to safely share their information stored in the Health app in order to stay connected on what matters most.

Advertisements

Fitness app for iPhone

Now without an Apple Watch, the Fitness app for iPhone can help you in tracking and achieving your fitness objectives. Your steps, distance travelled, and workouts from third parties will now estimate your calories to help you reach your daily movement goal using iPhone motion sensors.

Related: Fitness+ coming to all iPhone users later this fall

Family Sharing – Manage child accounts

Simple to set up child accounts with the proper parental controls from the start. Set your settings for things like location sharing, Screen Time, and age-appropriate media. Your child’s requests for screen time now display in Messages, making it simple for you to accept or deny them.

Family Sharing – Set up a new device for a child

You may now quickly set up a new iPhone or iPad for your child with all the necessary parental settings already enabled by using Quick Start and your device.

Family Sharing – Family Checklist

Discover out how to get the most of Family Sharing, including how to update the settings for your kids as they get older, enable location sharing, and be reminded that you can share your iCloud+ subscription with anybody.

Advertisements

Accessibility – Door Detection

Find a door, figure out how to open it, then use that information to find the last few feet to your destination. Additionally, important information like room numbers and wheelchair-accessible symbols are delivered out by Door Detection. (Requires iPhone 12 Pro & iPad Pro models: iPhone 12 Pro or later Pro models, iPad Pro 12.9-inch (4th and 5th generation), and iPad Pro 11-inch (2nd and 3rd generation).)

Accessibility – Live Captions

Follow conversations and media more effectively by immediately translating audio to text. The Live Captions are currently in the Beta phase and available in English for Canada and US only. (Requires iPhone 11 or later iPad with A12 Bionic and later, and Mac with Apple silicon)

Even More Features

Apple News: My Sports: Get the finest stories about your favourite teams and leagues by following them on Apple News app. Additionally, you may access highlights and the most recent standings, schedules, and scores directly from your news feed.

Weather: To explore more about local forecasts, air quality, and other topics, tap forecast modules. Get 10-day forecasts with hourly updates, including minute-by-minute precipitation intensity. And, also get official alerts on severe weather, including tornadoes, winter storms, flash floods, and other occurrences.

Freeform: Using the productivity software Freeform, you and your team members may visualize ideas. Take notes, send files to others, and add audio, video, and site links.

Advertisements

Apple TV: Apple TV, Apple Watch, and iPhone may now have new, connected experiences thanks to cross-device connectivity in tvOS 16. Make TV feel more personalized than ever by connecting your nearby devices.

Spotlight: Get more rich results, intelligent suggestions, and even more image results from apps like Messages, Notes, and Files by accessing Spotlight right from the Home Screen. Additionally, you can perform tasks directly from Spotlight, like as starting a timer or launching a shortcut.

Game Center: You can now view the play history and achievements of your friends in the Contacts app or the newly designed dashboard. You and a friend can join a game while on a FaceTime conversation thanks to SharePlay integration in Game Center multiplayer games.

Handoff in FaceTime: Without skipping a beat, quickly swap between devices during a FaceTime session. With just a tap, transfer your call from your Mac to your iPhone or iPad, and your Bluetooth headset that is paired switches over as well.

Advertisements

Stocks: To conveniently manage the tickers you follow, make many watchlists. Organize symbols based on any factors you like, including industry, asset type, ownership status, and more. To your calendar, add upcoming company earnings reports. And with additional widget settings, you can see even more information quickly.

Memoji: New Memoji stickers and customization choices, such as nose shapes, headwear, and hairstyles that show more natural hair textures and curl patterns, let you express yourself. Additionally, new Memoji contact sticker poses give your Contacts app even more personality.

Translate: Use the Translate app’s camera to translate the text nearby. You can translate language in photos from your Photos library, pause the view to get translations overlay on text in a photo, and zoom in for a closer look.

Leave a Reply