//

WhatsApp Outage: WhatsApp is down in a major outage [Update: Back Online]

WhatsApp is stuck on ‘connecting’ for users worldwide.

1 min read
WhatsApp Outage: WhatsApp is down in a major outage
(Photo by Torsten Dettlaff/Pexels)

WhatsApp is temporarily offline due to a major outage affecting the messaging app. The service began experiencing problems around 3 a.m. ET/12 a.m. PT/7 a.m. UTC, with users being greeted with a “connecting” message. If you try to use WhatsApp web, you’ll get an error saying “Make sure your computer has an active internet connection.” Downdetector has received over 60,000 reports of service issues, and the outage appears to be affecting users worldwide.

“We’re aware that some people are currently having trouble sending messages and we’re working to restore WhatsApp for everyone as quickly as possible,” says Meta spokesperson Joshua Breckman in a statement.

UPDATE (same day): WhatsApp is now back online at 5 a.m. ET/2 a.m. PT/9 a.m. UTC.