“Ted Lasso” Actor Jason Sudeikis Win Screen Actors Guild (SAG) Award for Outstanding Performance

1 min read
“Ted Lasso” Actor Jason Sudeikis Win Screen Actors Guild (SAG) Award for Outstanding Performance

The global popular and back-to-back award-winning Apple TV+ comedy series “Ted Lasso” actor Jason Sudeikis win Screen Actors Guild (SAG) for Outstanding Performance by a male actor.

“The win comes on the heels of last month’s triumph at the Critics Choice Awards, in which “Ted Lasso” won Best Comedy Series, Best Actor in a Comedy Series for Sudeikis, and Best Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series for Hannah Waddingham, sweeping all categories in which the widely beloved series was nominated. Sudeikis also won Best Actor in a Comedy Series at the Golden Globe Awards earlier this year.”

Last year Apple TV+ receive its first SAG award for the hit series “The Morning Show,” which was honored with Outstanding Performance by a Female Actor in a Drama Series for star Jennifer Aniston.

“Apple has been honored with a total of 345 awards nominations and accolades, and 91 awards wins since its global launch just over a year ago including Critics Choice Awards, Critics Choice Documentary Awards, Daytime, and Primetime Emmy Awards, NAACP Image Awards, a Peabody Award, a Golden Globe Award and more.”

About “Ted Lasso” series

Ted Lasso” Apple TV+ hit series debut in August 2020, staring Sudeikis as Ted Lasso, a small-time college football coach from Kansas hired to coach a professional soccer team in England, despite having no experience coaching soccer. Waddingham, Brendan Hunt, Jeremy Swift, Juno Temple, Brett Goldstein, Phil Dunster, and Nick Mohammed star alongside Sudeikis in the ensemble cast.

In addition to starring, Sudeikis serves as executive producer, alongside Bill Lawrence via his Doozer Productions, in association with Warner Bros. Television and Universal Television, a division of NBC Universal Content. Doozer’s Jeff Ingold also serves as an executive producer with Liza Katzer as co-executive producer. The series was developed by Sudeikis, Lawrence, Hunt, and Joe Kelly, and is based on the pre-existing format and characters from NBC Sports.