WhatsApp announced a privacy-related new cool feature called View Once photos and videos on WhatsApp. With this feature, your photos and videos will be disappearing from the chat after they have been opened.
Once you send a viewable photo or video, you won’t be able to see it again as well as those media files will not be saved in the recipient’s photo or gallery. Even recipients cannot forward, save, star, or share that videos or photos when they view.
You can use this feature when you are sending photos or videos to someone. To do this, from any chat select photos or videos which you want to send your recipient, once it is selected you will see a “1” in the caption text, just tap on it, now this media is only viewable at once. So the next, when your recipient opens that chat and opens that media, it will be viewed at once, again he tried to view media, it will not be opening again, by marking it as “Opened”.
If you don’t see this feature in your WhatsApp, please update your WhatsApp with a newer version, or wait until rolling out to everyone.
Also, note these simple things:
- If the recipient has started a reading acknowledgment, only you can see if he or she has opened a one-time photo or video.
- If the photo or video is not opened within 14 days after you send it, the media files from the chat will expire.
- You must select only one viewable media files each time you send a viewable photo or video.
- If a message is not opened while backing up messages, once viewed media files can be restored from the backup. If a photo or video has already been opened, those media files will not be included in the backup and cannot be restored.